Jess Cope and Steven Wilson’s “DRIVE HOME”

I’m a huge fan of Jess Cope’s animation work, especially the films she created for Steven Wilson’s songs. And with the release of “Drive Home” from The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories)’, Steven Wilson’s third solo album, we are given another glimpse into her beautiful style of animation.

I must admit, her name was unknown to me prior to seeing The Raven That Refused To Sing video; however, since then I’ve been fascinated by her work, especially “The Astronomer’s Sun”.

Here is the “Drive Home” vid:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycYewhiaVBk

The images created by Hajo Mueller combined with her animation are mesmerising.

Prog rock has always been one of my passions, and it is a source of inspiration in much of what I do, especially writing.

I love the fact that Steven Wilson is upholding the flag of progressive rock. In my mind, he is taking elements from Peter Gabriel, Pink Floyd, Genesis, Steve Hackett, King Crimson, to name a few, and he’s giving us a delicate – and at times a more hard-edged – glimpse into a style of music penned by such bands.

Marrying challenging time signatures with thought provoking lyrics as well as writing and producing delicate ballads that are dynamically brilliant, his success is only just beginning.

 

 

About Philip Shiell
A creative person who loves books, films, music, writing and teaching.

2 Responses to Jess Cope and Steven Wilson’s “DRIVE HOME”

  1. I’ve been passing the Steve Wilson torch since you turned me on to The Raven That Refused To Sing. One of my good friends is now a big fan. I had to buy the album, and have been compelled to watch the video several times now. One of my faves.

  2. The songs and the vids complement each other.
    I love watching the animation. Jess Cope is a wonderful person. Check out the interviews with her. You’ll love her accent: she’s originally from S Africa, but listening to her accent she’s lived in Yorkshire for a long time.

    Check out PorcupineTree. He’s their lead singer.
    The last two albums are fantastic: “The Incident” and “Fear of a Blank Planet”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95QS3c_Tei4 (Way out of Here live)
    or
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z1q-UQaYayI (Time Flies) These are two of my faves.

    Here’s another great prog rock song anthem, it’S Spectral Mornings from Steve Hackett

    Enjoy

Leave a Reply

