A bit of funk…

Here’s something I came up with on the NS/Stick.

https://soundcloud.com/phishi/f-for-funk

The NS/Stick is an 8-string stereo multi-mode instrument that was created by Emmett Chapman (creator of the Stick) and Ned Steinberger.

And here it is:

ns stick

Here is further info about the instrument:

http://www.stick.com/instruments/ns/

About Philip Shiell
A creative person who loves books, films, music, writing and teaching.

7 Responses to A bit of funk…

  1. Wow, I dig your sound Phil! Had to listen to that 3 times, that was awesome. Truly. As much as I love the written word, music is my obsession, so it was really nice to check out those 2:29 of bliss. Really glad you posted that link.

    • Thanks!
      I’ve never had such a positive response to anything I’ve put up on Soundcloud.
      WOW”
      You’ve made my day.
      I kind of post and forget.
      You’ve proved me wrong.
      People do listen.
      I’ve been playing music for most of my life. Funky grooves are what I love.
      They tend to get people grooving and dancing.
      I’m a huge fan of Jaco Pastorius; he was a genius on the bass.
      Thanks for the appreciation.
      I’ll have to cook up something new!
      Love your blog, by the way.
      Even though, (I hate to admit it) I’m not that up to date with US politics, its interesting to read. Love the poetry.
      You get me inspired.
      I can learn something
      Rant on… but groove at the same time…
      Phil

      • Oops, forgot to mention that I’m only familiar with Jaco Pastorius (too bad he’s dead!) through his work with Joni Mitchell. I will post a video of them on musicmonger in your honor, my friend! 🙂

  2. LOL I just NOW noticed that you replied to my post. I’m still a complete noob at this stuff, but I’m trying to learn and grow into more activity. The ins and outs of WordPress are still mystifying to me, but I’ll get there in the end. I’m really glad that my feedback made your day, and I have to say that I meant every word. I REALLY love that piece. When you post more please give me a heads-up – I don’t want to miss it.
    As for your kind words regarding my blog (the citadel), I thank you. It can be unnerving putting the poetry out there because it’s not generally appreciated (especially here in the US) but I still dare to post it once in awhile.
    Finally, I want to thank you for following my musicmonger blog and for recommending music to me. You’re helping me to open new musical doors and that is HUGE. Glad you enjoyed the Dead Can Dance tune. The two of them are amazing!
    Looking forward to continuing correspondence with you Phil.

    • Don’t worry… I’ve been the same. I started blogging six weeks ago.

      When I upload stuff to Soundcloud I’ll try and let you know. Thanks for the appreciation! I write most of my “home recorded” music on the bass and NS Stick. However, I’m moving more into keyboard arrangements. My hard drive is full of a mixture of genres, ranging from funk, rock, jazzy stuff right up to film type arrangements for a project I worked on a couple of years ago.
      I’ve spent a great deal of time figuring out how to do good recordings using a basic home studio set up. I’ve been building up a small studio for a few years now and have got everything I need. A better guitar is next on the list!

      Do you play any instruments? I’ve been playing in bands (hobby) all of my life so it’s quite a passion.

      This is the band I’m playing with at the moment: http://www.bantabax.de/band.html

      Keep up with the poetry. I’ll have to go through your archive when I have time.
      Where do you get your influence to write? I tend to get ideas for music from books. At the moment I’m finishing “The Folded Man” which is set in a very depressing UK circa 2018. It’s an excellent book.

      Talk soon,

      Phil

  3. One last thing: I signed up with Soundcloud so I could follow what you post up here. If you see any comments or anything from a Facebook page by Merry Minstrel that’s me, naturally. :=D

  4. kellyeik says:

    Funky stuff Phil! You have talent in so many areas! I could listen to F for Funk all day 🙂 Keep on being inspired and producing such fabulous sounds. Miss you guys so very much and I miss our chats. When I read your blog it underscores just how much. You are a fabulous family who gets out and does the things they dream about. Love and hugs 🙂 BTW I heard on the radio the other day that a new Dr Who has been chosen…I had to think of you 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

